报名!





常见问题

我们的工作坊连续进行2整天,通常从上午9点到下午5点,不过,你要是带个朋友来帮忙,可以完成地更快。在你完成车架的制作后,车架还需要48个小时固化,以及涂上有防护作用的蜡油。至此,你就真正拥有了一个竹子自行车车架!

安装其他零件还需要耗费我们的机械师额外2-3个小时,但如果你想参与组装,我们也非常欢迎。请注意BBB工作室的空间非常有限,自行车留存不能超过10天。所以请不要把车留在BBB,骑它上路吧!:-)


当然!这是最棒的环节!个性化自行车的方式无穷无尽,它从BBB机械师为你量身定制完美适合你的车架尺寸就开始了。在做好车架以后,我们鼓励大家用尽一切方法来折腾它!只要你能想到,我们都会支持!想看看已经有哪些酷炫设计吗?点这里!

最后,你为自行车选择的配件也会带来不同的重量、性能和美感。欢迎提前咨询我们有哪些适用的零部件。(备注:竹子车架均无法使用V-型刹车(悬臂式刹车器))。


额,,,也许,可以。通常BBB是很忙碌的,单独教一个人做竹子自行车会给我们带来时间上的压力。但过去还真干过几例。我们双方都需要很灵活地配合对方。提前和我们联系吧,我们看看能不能一起找到解决方案。


当然!我们已经接待过来自中国各地、世界各地的小伙伴儿(也有不那么小的伙伴儿)来做自行车。最近的住宿地方是 北京富山国际青年旅舍The Orchid。HOME青年旅社价格更实惠一些,而且跟他们提BBB会有折扣。The Orchid是一家舒适的精品酒店,食物和氛围都超赞(记得提前预订)。两个酒店距离BBB都不超过10分钟的胡同步行。


一般来说,你的竹子自行车将在周末工作坊结束后的下周三或周四就可以上路了。但是,这也取决于你所挑选的零部件是否有库存以及你期待的订制化程度。


额……我们相信竹子自行车最棒的地方就是你可以亲手制作它!一旦你动手做了,你会理解整个过程的每一个小环节而且会更爱这辆自行车(并且通常你也会骑行更多!)。但如果你确实抽不出时间来做,BBB的专家们也可以提供高端竹子自行车订制。这些自行车起步价是5000元人民币,我们会花至少40小时精心制作,让它的细节臻于完美,对得起价钱。


好主意!当然可以!当你报名的时候只需要留言这是送给另外一个人的礼物就可以了。我们会联系你并用电子邮件发送一个礼品卡,这样你就可以转赠给朋友了。我们还建议你和朋友一起来做这辆自行车,这是非常棒的一种体验。


办法总比问题多!如果要乘飞机离开,我们可以帮你把自行车打包进可以飞机托运的硬纸箱里。许多航班允许自行车免费托运,但需要跟具体航班核实(据我们的经验,海南航空和中国国际航空都是免费的。联合航空和美国航空收费。)如果你要乘火车,这也是非常可行的,通常只需要卸下一个或两个轮子即可。如果你想通过快递邮寄自行车,我们可以帮忙打包自行车并快递到中国大陆境内的地方(一般情况下费用是500 RMB)。对于国际快递,我们可以帮忙打包,但毕竟我们不是物流公司所以不能直接发国际快递。


是的,所有的竹子、碳纤维、木蜡油、环氧树脂、五金部件等统统囊括在2500元人民币内。这些都包含在一期工作坊中。你还需要决定使用哪些零部件。你也可以带自己的零部件来(不过首先要联系我们确认尺寸)或者从我们的产品目录中挑选。


跟所有的自行车一样,这取决于你对它的爱惜程度。但我们可以相当肯定的是,零部件总是先于竹子车架发生故障!只要适当地保护(不要整年把竹子自行车丢在外面遭受风吹雨淋,每年给它上蜡油),竹子自行车可以使用至少五年以上。


为了找到最适合做自行车、提供最安全骑行体验的竹子,我们尝试过许多不同品种的竹子。我们在中国大陆、台湾和美国都曾寻找过可靠的竹子供应商!我们曾使用过人面竹、铁竹、桂竹、紫竹和厘竹。我们目前所使用的竹子全部来自中国(一般是浙江安吉)并且对竹龄、直径、风干程度和壁厚程度都有具体的要求。


这完全是有可能的。首先,我们尽一切努力来预防干裂发生:精挑细选的竹子、适当的养护以及涂在车架上的渗透性保护蜡油。在我们已经做好的400多个车架中,大约只有10%发生过竹子裂开的情况。主要的你的竹子自行车甚至有开裂,它的结构和支撑性质还是很安全。开裂主要的是一个外观的问题.

竹子会因为气候的剧烈变化而膨胀和收缩,这有时会引起裂痕扩大,尤其是前三角。因此我们建议不要让自行车经受急剧的温度下降(多于50华氏度或15摄氏度的下降)。此外,在秋冬季节天气寒冷干燥的时候,我们建议把自行车放在室内,并且不要靠近热源。

如果你的自行车确实有了裂纹,也不要担心!你有机会给自行车装点“赛车纹”了!我们可以在工作室帮你修补,或者告诉你在家里怎么自己修补,这非常简单。你的自行车在骑行方面仍然是没问题的,经过修补的裂纹会与原来的竹子弥合(或者你也可以把裂纹装点成很有态度的条纹,很多BBBers都这么做啦!)


并没有!我们在乎的是大家在一起制作竹子自行车!通过一起制作自行车,我们希望在同期工作坊的学员之间建立一种长久的联系。我们的许多参与者后来都提出了很棒的想法来改进社群并回来带领工作坊。他们已经组织过许多自行车骑行、聚会、在不同城市和国家开设新的工作坊。


还有其他问题吗?联系我们

与我们北京竹子自行车工作坊取得联 :-)

欢迎来看我们!

开放时间:周二到周日早上10点到下午5点
地点:郎家胡同26号
(靠近地铁2号线鼓楼站、安定门站)

WeChat/微信:

工作坊管理人微信: "himowgli"
工作坊建立人微信: "dwang888"

电话:

13671003846

邮箱:

info@bamboobicyclesbj.com

Sign Up Here!



FAQs

Our workshop lasts 2 full days. Usually the workshop is from 9am to 5pm, but can go much faster if you bring a friend to help you out. After you’re done, the bike still needs about 48 hours to cure and for us to put a protective layer of wax on the bamboo. Then you have a bamboo bike frame!

Installing components takes another 2-3 hours for our mechanics, but we also welcome you to come in and give it a go. Please do know that BBB does not have the space to store your bicycle for longer than 10 days. So please do not plan on keeping it at BBB, RIDE IT! :-)


Of course! That’s the best part! There are an infinite number of ways to personalize your bike. It starts with BBB’s mechanics designing a perfectly sized frame for your body. Then after making the frame we encourage people to do all kinds of things to their bikes! If you can think of it, we’ll support it! Want to see some pretty cool designs? Check this out!

Lastly, the components you put on your bike also make a big different in weight, performance, and aesthetic. Feel free to consult with us about what sizes parts you can use beforehand. (Note: The frames cannot install v-brakes (cantilever brakes).


Hmmmm, yes… probably. We’re usually pretty busy at BBB and teaching one person intermittently is a huge time commitment for us. That said, we’ve worked it out in the past many times. We’ll both need to be flexible but get in contact with us, and we’ll do our best to work something out!


Sure! We’ve had people from all over China and the world come to build a bike. The closest places to stay are the HOME Youth Hostel and The Orchid. HOME is much more affordable as a youth hostel, and if you mention BBB they might give you a discount. The Orchid is a super comfy boutique hotel with amazing food and atmosphere (book ahead of time!). Both of these places are located within a 10 minute walk through the traditional Beijing hutong.


Typically, your bike will be ready to go on Wednesday or Thursday following your workshop weekend. However, this depends on whether or not we have your components in stock and how much customization you want to do.


Hmmmm… We strongly believe that the best part of a bamboo bike is that you can make it yourself! When you make it yourself, you understand every bit of the process and love the bike all the more (and usually ride it more too!). With that said, if you simply can’t spare the time, BBB’s masters will make high-end custom bamboo bicycles for customers. These bikes start at 5000RMB and will take a minimum of 40 hours of handcrafting to reach commercial level of refinement and detail.


Great idea! Yes you can! When you sign-up just leave a note that it’s a gift for someone else. We’ll contact you and email you a gift certificate you can give to your friend. We also suggest you join your friend in making the bike with him/her because it’s a great experience.


There’s always a way! For those flying, we can help back up your bike into a cardboard box that airlines will accept. Many airlines allow a bike to be checked for free, but you should check with your specific airlines (Hainan Airlines and China Air both are free in our experience. United and American Airlines charged us.) If you’re going by train, this is also very possible, and often times just means taking off a wheel or two. And if you want to ship your bike, we can help pack your bike and send it to places in China (usually for 500rmb). For international shipping, we can help pack but we are not a logistics company and cannot ship internationally.


Yes, all the bamboo, carbon fiber, was, epoxy, metal bits, etc are included in the price of 2000RMB. This is all included in the price of the workshop. You must decide on what components to use. Feel free to bring in your own (but check with us about the sizing first) or choose from parts catalogue.


Like all bikes, this depends on how you care for it, but we’re certain your components will likely be replaced before your frame is! With proper care (not leaving it outside in the rain for years and yearly waxing), your bamboo bicycle will last five or more years!


We’ve used many kinds of bamboo to be confident what species and curing methods make for the best and safest rides. Our research has taken us throughout China, Taiwan, and the US to find good and reliable providers of bamboo! We’ve used fishpole, iron, Japanese timber, black, and Tonkin bamboos. All of our bamboo is sourced from China (usually Anji) and is specially selected for age, diameter, curing, and wall thickness.


This is definitely a possibility. Firstly, we do all we can to prevent this by being highly selective in our bamboo, how it’s cured, and protecting your frame with penetrating wax oil. Of our 400+ frames, we’d estimate that about 10% have seen a split occur.

With extreme changes in climate bamboo expands and contracts, and this will sometimes result in a split beginning to propagate, especially in the front triangle. So we suggest not introducing your bike to huge temperature drops (50+F degree drops or 15+C degree drops). In addition, during autumn and winter when the weather gets cold and dry, we suggest keeping your bike indoors and not near a heater!

If your bike does form a split, don’t worry! You’ve earned a “racing stripe!” We can easily repair your bike in the workshop or tell you how to do it at home. Your bike will still be fully rideable and the repaired split will blend right into your bike’s bamboo (or you can turn your split into a flashy stripe which is what our BBBers do!).


Nope! We’re all about building together! By building together we hope to build a longtime relationship with and the other students in the workshop. Many of our participants end up having their own ideas to improve our community and coming back to lead them. They’ve led bike rides, parties, opened new workshops in other cities and countries.


Any other questions? Contact us!

Get in touch with the Beijing workshop :-)

Swing by and meet face to face:

We're open Tuesday-Sunday from 10am-5pm. Come by and say "HI!""
26 LangJia Hutong 郎家胡同26号
(Very near Guloug and Andingmen stations; see map).

WeChat/微信:

Workshop Manager WeChat: "himowgli"
Beijing Founder WeChat: "dwang888"

Give a call:

13671003846

Send an email:

info@bamboobicyclesbj.com